WE ONLY DO PASSION

At over 600 m above sea level, one thing helps us above all else: trust.



Back to basics: the soils of the vineyards in Borgo la Stella are typical of the Chianti Classico region between Castellina and Radda. The talents of this soil in the Borgo la Stella’s vineyards at an altitude of over 600 m are part of the best “dowry” which any of the world’s noblest wines could wish for - but which are only available in the world’s most favoured regions in this mixture. Our soils tend to be clayey and interspersed with a content of skeletal materials which are exceedingly important, valuable and available in abundance here. These skeletal materials contain limestone in “Alberese” and “Galestro” formations. The (shellfish) lime content of our soil layers is decisive in creating red wines with olfactory refinement and sensuality (in other words, which speak directly to the olfactory sense), and in the effort to create a harmonious tannin balance.

The Borgo la Stella vineyard in the heart of Tuscany extends over more than 16 hectares of land in the beautiful Chianti Senese region, lying between Vagliagli and Castellina in Chianti, where the tradition of oil and wine production has been embedded for centuries.

Inspired by passion, with respect for the altitude, and with trust and appreciation for this land, the Geyer family took over Borgo la Stella in 2007 and restructured the whole agricultural business – with the aim of producing select red wines with personality. The vineyards are mostly terraced, offering a unique vista. This form of cultivation is sadly becoming increasingly rare in the hills of the Chianti region because of the high labour costs associated with it.

WIR KÖNNEN NUR LEIDENSCHAFT

Auf über 600 m Seehöhe hilft uns vor allem eines: Vertrauen.



Zurück zum Wesentlichen: Die Böden der Weinberge im Borgo la Stella sind typisch für die Region Chianti Classico zwischen Castellina und Radda. Die Begabungen dieses Bodens in den Weinbergen des Borgo la Stellas auf über 600 m Höhe gehören zum Nonplusultra dessen, was sich Adel und Hochadel der Weine der Welt als „Mitgift“ wünschen können – was aber nur in den vom Universum bevorzugten Regionen in dieser Konstellation vorhanden ist. Unsere Böden sind tendenziell tonhaltig – und – mit einem überaus wichtigen, wertvollen und bei uns üppig vorhandenen Skelettanteil durchsetzt. Diese Skelette weisen Kalksteine der Formationen „Alberese“ und „Galestro“ auf. Der (Muschel-)Kalkgehalt unserer Bodenschichtungen ist bei der Herstellung von Rotweinen mit olfaktorischer Raffinesse und Sinnlichkeit (sprich den Geruchssinn unmittelbar ansprechend),  sowie bei dem Ringen um eine abgestimmte Tannin-Balance, entscheidend.

Das Weingut Borgo la Stella im Herzen der Toskana erstreckt sich über mehr als 16 Hektar Land in der wunderschönen Region Crete Senesi und liegt zwischen Vagliagli und Castellina in Chianti, wo die Tradition der Öl- und Weinherstellung seit Jahrhunderten verankert ist.

Inspiriert von der Leidenschaft, mit Respekt vor der Höhe und mit dem Vertrauen und der Wertschätzung für dieses Land übernahm die Familie Geyer Borgo la Stella im Jahr 2007 und restrukturierte den gesamten landwirtschaftlichen Betrieb – mit dem Ziel, erlesene Rotweine mit Persönlichkeit zu produzieren. Ein Großteil der Weinberge ist terrassenförmig aufgebaut und bietet einen einzigartigen Ausblick. Diese Form des Anbaus wird in den Hügeln der Region Chianti aufgrund der damit verbundenen hohen Bewirtschaftungskosten leider immer seltener.