EXPERT VIEW OF TOP SOMMELIER TIM VANDEPUT, BRUSSELS

CHIANTI CLASSICO 2012

The Chianti Classico 2012 from Borgo la Stella is captivating with its cherry fruit and well-balanced elegance. It has a freshness, fruit and youthfulness which rightly make among the best of its type and vintage. The wines of this new generation of Chianti Classicos are authentic, almost fully hand-made according to the traditional winemakers’ craft. This wine production from Borgo la Stella, which is perfectly attuned to the terroir, fully accommodates the sensitive Sangiovese grape. And it is rewarded with a characterful, gloriously rounded flavour. As relatively few bottles of the 2012 vintage are available, I recommend snapping them up quickly.

EXPERT VIEW OF OENOLOGIST MAURIZIO ALONGI

CRONOS 2012

Even in its ripening youthfulness, the CRONOS IGT presents itself as extremely elegant, well-balanced, juicy and clear on the palate. Seductive. It is an intense ruby red colour, ranging towards a natural purple. This combination of 60% Sangiovese, 25% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot developed as an IGT tastes concentrated and at the same time soft. Its high potential quality already make it highly drinkable even 2.5 to 3 years after the grapes were harvested.

The tannin is harmoniously integrated into the fruit. In terms of typical character, the CRONOS IGT is a worthy representative of its terroir: genuine and self-confident. A good accompaniment to fine dining and haute cuisine. It possesses characterful harmony, refinement and lightness. Its origin in one of the best and highest-lying vineyards producing Chianti Classico, as well as the excellence of vinification at the Marchesi Mazzei winery, is evident in every mouthful.

EXPERT OPINIONS AND AWARDS

CHIANTI CLASSICO RISERVA 2010

Frank Buchholz, starred chef at Mainz-Gonsenheim: “I liked the Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 straight away. This one is definitely amongst the new generation of Chianti Classicos which, with traditional winemaking methods, are helping the region achieve its justifiable new brilliance. A tremendous wine to enjoy with food, or simply on its own.”

Michael Moosbrugger, top winemaker at the Schloss Gobelsburg vineyard, Austria: “In the Chianti Classico region you can now clearly discern a new renaissance for this outstanding terroir. The Borgo la Stella Chianti Classicos can certainly look forward to an absolutely top rating in the long term. This Riserva 2010 is already playing in a league with the really big names…. but as yet it doesn’t cost as much.”

The Parisian Elena and her Tuscan husband Franco founded La Bottega del 30 in Villa a Sesta, near Siena in 1987. This small rural restaurant has been the proud holder of a Michelin star without a break since 1997. By conviction, the Borgo la Stella Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 has been a fixture on their wine list. “This wine is authentic, family-owned, fine, structured, delicious. Just how we regard our cuisine.”

Tim Vandeput, leading sommelier in Belgium: “This 2010 Chianti Classico Riserva is an unusually elegant, soft wine. Full-bodied and open on the palate. It is distinguished by aromatic, rounded complexity, is characterful but at the same time very harmonious.”

EXPERT OPINIONS AND AWARDS

CHIRONE 2011

Frank Buchholz, star chef in Mainz-Gonsenheim: “The Chirone has wonderful finesse, softness, soft tannins. A characterful accompaniment to my cuisine. I have presented the Chirone to my guests and spontaneously ordered it for my restaurant.”

Michael Moosbrugger, top winemaker at the Schloss Gobelsburg vineyard, Austria: “In the Chianti Classico region there are certainly now several of these top IGTs. The Chirone, however, not only holds its own here, but scores with very skilfully balanced, independent character and accessibility. In this price range there is hardly anything to beat it!”

Hermann Lankmaier (photo), Austria’s Sommelier of the Year 2013 and Hotel Manager Gerhard Lucian, Host of the Burg Hotel Oberlech: “Both the Chirone IGT and the Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 are outstanding representatives of the new top-class characterful Chianti terroir wines, and suit our cuisine wonderfully well.”

Pius Regli, Top Gastronom und Weinhändler in Kampen / Sylt, Restaurant Manne Pahl: Der Chirone ist ein wunderbarer Wein, der sehr gut zu unserer gehobenen, unverfälschten Küche passt. Natürlich hat der Chirone viel Konkurrenz. Aber er hat den echten Charakter!“

EXPERTISE DES SPITZEN-SOMMELIERS TIM VANDEPUT, BRÜSSEL

CHIANTI CLASSICO 2012

Der Chianti Classico 2012 von Borgo la Stella besticht durch seine Kirschfrucht und durch seine ausbalancierte Eleganz. Er besitzt jene Frische, Frucht und Jugendlichkeit, die ihn zu Recht zu den besten seiner Art und seines Jahrgangs macht. Die Weine dieser neuen Generation von Chianti Classicos sind unverfälscht, fast vollständig von Hand und nach traditioneller Weinhandwerkskunst gemacht. Diese ganz auf das Terroir abgestimmte Weinherstellung von Borgo la Stella kommt der empfindlichen Sangiovese-Traube entgegen. Sie dankt es mit charaktervollem, herrlich abgerundetem Genuss. Da von dem 2012er nur relativ wenige Flaschen verfügbar sind, empfehle ich den rechtzeitigen Erwerb.

EXPERTISE DES ÖNOLOGEN MAURIZIO ALONGI

CRONOS 2012

Der CRONOS IGT präsentiert sich schon in seiner reifen Jugend aussergewöhnlich elegant, ausgeglichen, saftig und klar am Gaumen. Mitreißend. Er ist von intensiver rubinroter Farbe, die bis in ein natürlich wirkendes Purpur reicht. Diese als IGT ausgebaute Assemblage aus 60 % Sangiovese, 25 % Cabernet Sauvignon und 15 % Merlot schmeckt konzentriert und zugleich weich. Sein hohes Qualitätspotenzial macht ihn bereits 2,5 bis 3 Jahre nach der Traubenernte sehr schön trinkbar.

Das Tannin ist harmonisch in die Frucht eingebunden. Von der Typizität her ist der CRONOS IGT ein würdiger Vertreter seines Terroirs: Echt und selbstbewusst. Ein Begleiter guter bis bester Küche. Dabei besitzt er eine charaktervolle Harmonie, Feinheit und Leichtigkeit. Die bedeutende Herkunft von einem der besten und am höchsten gelegenen Weinberge des Chianti Classico sowie die Excellenz der Vinifikation der Kellerei Marchesi Mazzei sind mit jedem Schluck präsent.

EXPERTISEN UND AUSZEICHNUNGEN

CHIANTI CLASSICO RISERVA 2010

Frank Buchholz, Sternekoch in Mainz-Gonsenheim: „Der Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 hat mir auf Anhieb gefallen. Der gehört sicher zu der neuen Generation von Chianti Classicos, die mit traditionellen Methoden des Weinmachens das Gebiet zu dem gebührenden, neuen Glanz verhelfen werden. Ein großartiger Wein zum Essen und einfach zum Genießen."

Michael Moosbrugger, Spitzenwinzer Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg, Österreich: „Im Chianti Classico Gebiet kann man mittlerweile deutlich spüren, dass eine würdige Renaissance dieses herausragenden Terroirs ansteht. Die Borgo la Stella Chianti Classicos können sich hier sicherlich auf Dauer einen absoluten Spitzenplatz erarbeiten. Dieser Riserva 2010 spielt schon jetzt in einer Liga mit den ganz großen Namen ... er kostet aber noch nicht so viel."

Die Pariserin Elena und ihr toskanischer Ehemann Franco gründeten 1987 die La Bottega del 30 in Villa a Sesta, nahe Siena. Seit 1997 ist dieses kleine Land-Restaurant ununterbrochen mit einem Michelinstern bedacht. Den Borgo la Stella Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 haben sie aus Überzeugung auf ihre Weinkarte genommen: „Dieser Wein ist echt, familär, fein, strukturiert, köstlich. So wie wir unsere Küche verstehen."

Tim Vandeput, führender Sommelier in Belgien: „Dieser 2010er Chianti Classico Riserva ist ein ungewöhnlich eleganter, sanfter Wein. Am Gaumen vollmundig und offen. Er unterschiedet sich durch aromatische, abgerundete Komplexität, ist charaktervoll aber dabei sehr harmonisch."

EXPERTISEN UND AUSZEICHNUNGEN

CHIRONE 2011

Frank Buchholz, Sternekoch in Mainz-Gonsenheim: „Der Chirone hat eine wunderbare Finesse, Weichheit, schön eingebundene Tannine. Ein charaktervoller Begleiter meiner Küche. Ich habe den Chirone meinen Gästen vorgestellt und spontan für mein Restaurant geordert."

Michael Moosbrugger, Spitzenwinzer Weingut Schloss Gobelsburg, Österreich: „Im Chianti Classico Gebiet gibt es mittlerweile sicherlich mehrere dieser Top-IGT`s. Der Chirone kann sich hier aber nicht nur sehr gut behaupten sondern punktet mit sehr gekonnt balanciertem, eigenständigem Charakter und Zugänglichkeit. In der Preislage gibt es kaum etwas Besseres!“

Hermann Lankmaier (Bild), Österreichs Sommelier des Jahres 2013 und Hotelchef Gerhard Lucian, Gastgeber im Burg Hotel Oberlech: „Sowohl der Chirone IGT als auch der Chianti Classico Riserva 2010 sind hervorragende Vertreter der neuen Top-Klasse der charaktervollen Chianti-Terroirweine und passen hervorragend zu unserer Küche."

Pius Regli, Top Gastronom und Weinhändler in Kampen / Sylt, Restaurant Manne Pahl: Der Chirone ist ein wunderbarer Wein, der sehr gut zu unserer gehobenen, unverfälschten Küche passt. Natürlich hat der Chirone viel Konkurrenz. Aber er hat den echten Charakter!“