SANGIOVESE – THE THIN-SKINNED REBEL BATTLING IT OUT ON LIMESTONE WITH CABERNET SAUVIGNON AND MERLOT

The Sangiovese grape is traditionally a thin-skinned type. So what could be done at an altitude of over 600m in the Borgo la Stella region?

The grape varieties planted follow the principles of the two winemakers Oscar Geyer and his son Christian-Oscar Geyer. From the outset their aim was strictly to preserve the wine-growing traditions of the Chianti Classico region whilst at the same leaving room for a controlled degree of innovation. Based on this approach, the Borgo la Stella vineyard favours cultivation of the Sangiovese grape variety. This ampelographic choice is systematically completed with Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. The area under cultivation currently covers around 4.5 hectares.

Retrospective view: it is well known that during the boom of the last twenty years, many winemakers chose not to rely solely on the labour-intensive Sangiovese grape. Sangiovese is traditionally a thin-skinned creature. It is a grape which has extraordinary sensitivity to the rather sudden changes in weather which are quite frequent in Tuscany. Sangiovese fears the rain in Spring and late autumn. Storms and hailstones can easily burst the sensitive, porous skin of the grape. Which means that the September weather seals the fate of the Sangiovese harvest.

Grapes such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot, by contrast, are more robust, internationally fashionable and easy to sell.

So what can be done at an altitude of over 600 m in the Borgo la Stella region? Can we, and do we wish to, take the risks associated with tricky weather conditions and add to these a sensitive, thin-skinned grape? What should be the role of Cabernet and Merlot? What sort of dual is in prospect?

To come to the point: Borgo la Stella relies on its incomparable limestone soil. This is where Sangiovese basically wins out and challenges Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot to a show of strength. The winemakers in Borgo la Stella will not allow Chianti Classico to go under in a sea of soft and fruity Cabernets and Merlots. Actually, the job of these “foreign” grapes is to enrich our Sangiovese wines with new freedoms, whilst always emphasising the elegance of the Chianti character.

SANGIOVESE – DER DÜNNHÄUTIGE REVOLUZZER DUELLIERT SICH AUF MUSCHELKALK: MIT CABERNET SAUVIGNON UND MERLOT

Der Sangiovese ist traditionell ein dünnhäutiger Geselle. Was also tun auf über 600m Höhe im Borgo la Stella Bereich?

Die gepflanzten Rebsorten entsprechen dem Grundsatz der beiden Winzer Oscar Geyer und Sohn Christian-Oscar Geyer. Von Beginn an war es ihr Ziel, die Weinbautraditionen der Region Chianti Classico strikt zu wahren und gleichzeitig in kontrolliertem Maße Raum für Innovation zu lassen. Aufgrund dieser Einstellung bevorzugt das Weingut Borgo la Stella die Rebsorte Sangiovese beim Anbau. Die ampelografische Auswahl wird aber systematisch durch Merlot und Cabernet Sauvignon vervollständigt. Aktuell erstreckt sich die genutzte Anbaufläche auf über etwa 4,5 ha.

Rückblick: Viele Winzer wollten sich in den Boomzeiten der vergangenen zwanzig Jahre bekanntlich nicht mehr allein auf den arbeitsintensiven Sangiovese verlassen. Denn Sangiovese ist traditionelle ein dünnhäutiger Geselle. Diese Traube zeigt sich außerordentlich empfindlich gegenüber den in der Toskana üblichen ruppigen Wetterwechseln. Der Sangiovese fürchtet den Regen des Frühlings und des Spätherbst. Sturm und Hagel lässt die empfindliche, durchlässige Beerenhaut leicht platzen. Und somit wird das Wetter im September für die Sangiovese-Ernte schicksalhaft.

Reben wie Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot dagegen sind robuster, international in Mode und gut verkäuflich.

Was also tun auf über 600m Höhe im Borgo la Stella Bereich? Können wir, wollen wir die Risiken mit schwierigen Witterungsbedingungen und zusätzlich mit einer empfindlichen, dünnhäutigen Traube eingehen? Welche Rolle sollen dann Cabernet und Merlot spielen? Welches Duell zeichnet sich ab?

Um es vorweg zu nehmen: Borgo la Stella setzt auf seinen unvergleichbaren Muschelkalk-Boden. Hier hat der Sangiovese grundsätzlich den Lead und lädt Cabernet Sauvignon und Merlot zum Kräftemessen ein. Die Weinmacher im Borgo la Stella lassen es nicht zu, dass der Chianti Classico in einem Meer fruchtig-weicher Cabernets und Merlots untergeht. Vielmehr haben die Trauben aus der „Fremde“ die Aufgabe, unsere Sangiovese-Weine mit neuen Freiheiten zu bereichern, jedoch jederzeit die Eleganz des Chianti-Charakters zu unterstreichen.